SALD Conference 2022

South Asian Languages in the Diaspora (SALD) 2022 Conference

A hybrid mode conference hosted at the University of Texas at Austin
Julius Glickman Conference Center - RLP 1.302B
Saturday, October 1st, 9:30am-6pm CDT
(10:30-7:00pm EDT; 8:00-4:30am IST/7:30-4:00am PST)
Sunday, October 2nd 9:30am-1pm CDT
(10:30-2:00pm EDT; 8:00-11:30pm IST/7:30-11:00pmPST)
 
Co-sponsored by:
South Asia Institute, University of Texas at Austin
South Asian Language Programs, New York University
South Asian Studies Council, MacMillan Center, Yale University
 

The South Asian Languages in the Diaspora (SALD) Conference seeks to provide a platform to educators and related stakeholders in the field of  outh Asian languages, literatures, and translation, to share experiences and create meaningful partnerships. This conference aims to explore the teaching and learning of South Asian languages in the diaspora.

SALD 2023 presentations address pedagogical innovations promoting critical thinking and creative self-expression in the target language, and  issues of diversity, equity & inclusion (DEI) and social justice with examples for integration of language, culture and other content.

Registration is free, but both, in-person and virtual participants need to register. To register please use the registration link in the menu below

For conference website and details please visit  https://sites.utexas.edu/sald/

To register for the event please visit https://sites.utexas.edu/sald/registration/

Tentative Program:

SATURDAY, Oct 1st

Welcome & Introduction9:30-9:45am CDT (10:30-10:45am EDT; 8:00-8:15pm IST/7:30-7:45pmPST)

  • Words matter, language matters: Some principles of inclusion exclusive to language pedagogyGautami Shah, University of Texas at Austin, USA. (in-person)

Session 19:45-11:15am CDT (10:45am-12:15pm EDT; 8:15-9:45pm IST/7:45-9:15PST)

  • The multilingual mindTej Bhatia, Syracuse University, USA. (in-person)
  • Respecting linguistic identity: Teaching Urdu in PashtoRomeena Sami Kureishy, New York University, USA . (virtual)
  • Selecting materials through diversity perspective Ritu Jayakar, Penn State University, USA. (in-person)

Session 2 11:30am-1:00pm CDT (12:30pm-2:00pm EDT; 10:00-11:30pm IST/9:30-11:00pmPST)

  • From pop songs and protest memes to cellphone commercials, everything is fair game: Reexamining what constitutes teachable text in a language classKenneth Wong, University of California – Berkeley, USA. (virtual)
  • Toward a pedagogy of learning by decoding: solving language problems of signs and other minimalist texts. Ahmed Shamim, University of Texas at Austin, USA. (in-person)
  • Rethinking a literature reading classNora Melnikova, UC Berkeley, USA. (in-person)

Lunch 1:00-2:15pm CDT (2-3:15pm EDT; 11:30pm-12:45am IST/11:00pm-12:15am)

Session 3 2:30pm-4:00pm CDT (3:30pm-5:00pm EDT; 1:00am-2:30am IST/12:30-2:00am)

  • Panel – Aged by culture or diversified personal experience: Representation of old age in the diaspora and local literatureRajni Bhargava, Tahira Naqvi & Gabriela Nik, New York University, USA. (in-person); P.K. Jayalakshmi, St. Joseph. College, Vishakhapatnam, India. (virtual)

Session 4 4:15pm-5:45pm CDT (5:15pm-6:45pm EDT; 2:45-4:15am IST/2:15-3:45am PST)

Lightning round I: Topics in SA language pedagogy 

  • Fostering compassion, connection, and community in the language classroom Shilpa Parnami, Boston University, USA. (in-person)
  • Post-reading activitiesMansi Bajaj, Yale University, USA. (in-person)
  • Open educational resources for less commonly taught languagesRajiv Ranjan, Michigan State University, USA. (in-person)
  • Digitalization of transformative pedagogical approaches to build L2  proficiencyBhavya Singh, New York University, USA. (virtual)
  • Heritage language pedagogy: Use of comics in Hindi/Urdu classroomMJ Warsi, Aligarh Muslim University, India. (virtual)
  • Attrition and maintenance of the South Asian languages in the Indian diasporaBrajesh Samarth, Emory University, USA. (virtual)

SUNDAY, Oct 2nd

Session 6 9:30am-11:00am CDT (10:30am-12:00pm EDT, 8:00-9:30pm IST/7:30-9:00pm PST)

  • Issues of translation : with special reference to poetryAnand Vardhan Sharma,  Banaras Hindu University, India. (virtual)
  • Who saw the peacock dancing in the jungle: A case study of Bengali to EnglishPritesh Chakrabarty,  Acharya Sukumar Sen Mahavidyalaya, India. (virtual)
  • Comparative translations in the intermediate Hindi classroomJason Grunebaum, University of Chicago, USA. (virtual)

Session 7 11:15am-12:45pm CDT (12:15pm-1:45pm EDT, 9:45-11:15pm IST/9:15-10:45pm)

  • Selecting and sequencing Hindi-Urdu texts for advanced learners: Lessons from a corpus analysis of literary genresPeter Knapczyk, Wake Forest University, USA & Will Cooke, Augusta University, USA. (virtual)
  • Talim: Devising a framework for digital teaching of Asian languages for primary education in MauritiusKumarduth (Vinaye) Goodary, Centre for Innovative Learning and Knowledge Application, Mauritius. (virtual)
  • Community based efforts towards documentation, preservation and revitalisation of Raji, a disappearing South Asian languageMadri Kakoti & Prof. Kavita Rastogi, University of Lucknow, India. (virtual)

Please direct all inquiries to gshah@austin.utexas.edu

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: