SALD Conference 2022

South Asian Languages in the Diaspora (SALD) 2022 Conference

A hybrid mode conference hosted at the University of Texas at Austin
Julius Glickman Conference Center - RLP 1.302B
Saturday, October 1st, 9:30am-6pm CDT
(10:30-7:00pm EDT; 8:00-4:30am IST/7:30-4:00am PST)
Sunday, October 2nd 9:30am-1pm CDT
(10:30-2:00pm EDT; 8:00-11:30pm IST/7:30-11:00pmPST)
 
Co-sponsored by:
South Asia Institute, University of Texas at Austin
South Asian Language Programs, New York University
South Asian Studies Council, MacMillan Center, Yale University
 

The South Asian Languages in the Diaspora (SALD) Conference seeks to provide a platform to educators and related stakeholders in the field of  outh Asian languages, literatures, and translation, to share experiences and create meaningful partnerships. This conference aims to explore the teaching and learning of South Asian languages in the diaspora.

SALD 2023 presentations address pedagogical innovations promoting critical thinking and creative self-expression in the target language, and  issues of diversity, equity & inclusion (DEI) and social justice with examples for integration of language, culture and other content.

Registration is free, but both, in-person and virtual participants need to register. To register please use the registration link in the menu below

For conference website and details please visit  https://sites.utexas.edu/sald/

To register for the event please visit https://sites.utexas.edu/sald/registration/

Tentative Program:

SATURDAY, Oct 1st

Welcome & Introduction9:30-9:45am CDT (10:30-10:45am EDT; 8:00-8:15pm IST/7:30-7:45pmPST)

  • Words matter, language matters: Some principles of inclusion exclusive to language pedagogyGautami Shah, University of Texas at Austin, USA. (in-person)

Session 19:45-11:15am CDT (10:45am-12:15pm EDT; 8:15-9:45pm IST/7:45-9:15PST)

  • The multilingual mindTej Bhatia, Syracuse University, USA. (in-person)
  • Respecting linguistic identity: Teaching Urdu in PashtoRomeena Sami Kureishy, New York University, USA . (virtual)
  • Selecting materials through diversity perspective Ritu Jayakar, Penn State University, USA. (in-person)

Session 2 11:30am-1:00pm CDT (12:30pm-2:00pm EDT; 10:00-11:30pm IST/9:30-11:00pmPST)

  • From pop songs and protest memes to cellphone commercials, everything is fair game: Reexamining what constitutes teachable text in a language classKenneth Wong, University of California – Berkeley, USA. (virtual)
  • Toward a pedagogy of learning by decoding: solving language problems of signs and other minimalist texts. Ahmed Shamim, University of Texas at Austin, USA. (in-person)
  • Rethinking a literature reading classNora Melnikova, UC Berkeley, USA. (in-person)

Lunch 1:00-2:15pm CDT (2-3:15pm EDT; 11:30pm-12:45am IST/11:00pm-12:15am)

Session 3 2:30pm-4:00pm CDT (3:30pm-5:00pm EDT; 1:00am-2:30am IST/12:30-2:00am)

  • Panel – Aged by culture or diversified personal experience: Representation of old age in the diaspora and local literatureRajni Bhargava, Tahira Naqvi & Gabriela Nik, New York University, USA. (in-person); P.K. Jayalakshmi, St. Joseph. College, Vishakhapatnam, India. (virtual)

Session 4 4:15pm-5:45pm CDT (5:15pm-6:45pm EDT; 2:45-4:15am IST/2:15-3:45am PST)

Lightning round I: Topics in SA language pedagogy 

  • Fostering compassion, connection, and community in the language classroom Shilpa Parnami, Boston University, USA. (in-person)
  • Post-reading activitiesMansi Bajaj, Yale University, USA. (in-person)
  • Open educational resources for less commonly taught languagesRajiv Ranjan, Michigan State University, USA. (in-person)
  • Digitalization of transformative pedagogical approaches to build L2  proficiencyBhavya Singh, New York University, USA. (virtual)
  • Heritage language pedagogy: Use of comics in Hindi/Urdu classroomMJ Warsi, Aligarh Muslim University, India. (virtual)
  • Attrition and maintenance of the South Asian languages in the Indian diasporaBrajesh Samarth, Emory University, USA. (virtual)

SUNDAY, Oct 2nd

Session 6 9:30am-11:00am CDT (10:30am-12:00pm EDT, 8:00-9:30pm IST/7:30-9:00pm PST)

  • Issues of translation : with special reference to poetryAnand Vardhan Sharma,  Banaras Hindu University, India. (virtual)
  • Who saw the peacock dancing in the jungle: A case study of Bengali to EnglishPritesh Chakrabarty,  Acharya Sukumar Sen Mahavidyalaya, India. (virtual)
  • Comparative translations in the intermediate Hindi classroomJason Grunebaum, University of Chicago, USA. (virtual)

Session 7 11:15am-12:45pm CDT (12:15pm-1:45pm EDT, 9:45-11:15pm IST/9:15-10:45pm)

  • Selecting and sequencing Hindi-Urdu texts for advanced learners: Lessons from a corpus analysis of literary genresPeter Knapczyk, Wake Forest University, USA & Will Cooke, Augusta University, USA. (virtual)
  • Talim: Devising a framework for digital teaching of Asian languages for primary education in MauritiusKumarduth (Vinaye) Goodary, Centre for Innovative Learning and Knowledge Application, Mauritius. (virtual)
  • Community based efforts towards documentation, preservation and revitalisation of Raji, a disappearing South Asian languageMadri Kakoti & Prof. Kavita Rastogi, University of Lucknow, India. (virtual)

Please direct all inquiries to gshah@austin.utexas.edu

SALTA Fall Programming and Business Meeting September 10

Dear SALTA Community,

Welcome to the 2022-23 Academic Year!

Last Fall, SALTA was able to offer a variety of successful language pedagogy and professional development workshops to our community. We appreciate your involvement and participation!

Together, we all advance our passions and purpose. The SALTA Board seeks your input for fall programming and working groups. If you have an idea that you would like to see SALTA coordinate, please let us know so that we can add it to the agenda and bring in as many members as possible to support your interests. The form for submissions is here: https://forms.gle/baKZkV7dZwY67Ju49 or you may contact a board member directly to include your idea.

We will review initial ideas at a business meeting on September 10, 2022 (9:00 a.m. UTC-5). At this meeting, the board will also vote to adopt amendments to the by-laws. We value your input and so the meeting is open to all members for discussion.

The Zoom link for the September 10 meeting is below. I hope to see you there!

Elliott

Elliott McCarter (he, him, his) is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.

Topic: SALTA Business Meeting

Time: Sep 10, 2022 09:00 AM Central Time (US and Canada)

Join Zoom Meeting

https://vanderbilt.zoom.us/j/98300546707?pwd=QlI4TXR3MDRwZmdpSW1PclRURGJ6QT09

Meeting ID: 983 0054 6707

Passcode: pragati

One tap mobile

+16465588656,,98300546707# US (New York)

+13462487799,,98300546707# US (Houston)

Dial by your location

        +1 646 558 8656 US (New York)

        +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)

Meeting ID: 983 0054 6707

Find your local number: https://vanderbilt.zoom.us/u/acvmE7U8By

Join by SIP

98300546707@zoomcrc.com

Join by H.323

162.255.37.11 (US West)

162.255.36.11 (US East)

115.114.131.7 (India Mumbai)

115.114.115.7 (India Hyderabad)

213.19.144.110 (Amsterdam Netherlands)

213.244.140.110 (Germany)

103.122.166.55 (Australia Sydney)

103.122.167.55 (Australia Melbourne)

149.137.40.110 (Singapore)

64.211.144.160 (Brazil)

149.137.68.253 (Mexico)

69.174.57.160 (Canada Toronto)

65.39.152.160 (Canada Vancouver)

207.226.132.110 (Japan Tokyo)

149.137.24.110 (Japan Osaka)

Meeting ID: 983 0054 6707

Passcode: 6115049

ICCR Hindi Awareness Course

We would like to inform you that Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR) in association with Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU) and Central Hindi Directorate (CHD) will conduct a 3-month online Hindi Awareness Course from September 1, 2022, remotely with a view to enhance learning opportunities in Hindi language to foreign nationals.

24 online classes in Hindi Awareness course will be organized twice a week from 1st September to 30th November 2022. Certificates will be issued by Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU) on successful completion of the course.

Prior registration would be necessary. The link to attend the programme will be shared in due course of time.

You are requested to share the above information among the members of your organization. Interested participants can register for these classes by sending their details to pic.chicago@mea.gov.in in the format given below:

NameAgeEmail IDContact NumberAddress
     

We look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Ranjit Singh

Consul (Press, Information & Culture)

Consulate General of India, Chicago

YHS Seeking Program Participants

Yuva Hindi Sansthan needs to immediately recruit a couple of candidates (college students or faculty members) for 2022 YHS FULBRIGHT-HAYS GPA SHORT TERM FOR CURRICULUM DEVELOPMENT. If you are a US citizen, national, or permanent resident,  willing to go on a study tour to India (Oct 29-Nov 26m 2022), and your career goal is teaching language, culture, social sciences, history, geography, (area studies). (Hindi proficiency is desirable but not a  prerequisite), please contact Ashok Ojha, Program Director, 732-318-9891 immediately or email him: aojha2008@gmail.com

Student Survey Request

Dear SALTA community. Marijana Janjic is researching Hindi Teaching for a publication. She needs to collect data from students who have learned Hindi in universities. She has prepared a survey for students and former students to answer. Would you please kindly distribute the link to the survey to your students and other individuals as you see fit. The survey link is here: https://forms.gle/GrKqYZSHbhVT5CC6A

Yuva Hindi Sansthan – Climate Change Training Initiative

Via Ashok Ojha

You will be happy to know that Yuva Hindi Sansthan, INC. has been awarded the prestigious Fulbright-Hays GPA Short-Term Project 2022 by the US Dept of Education. We are soliciting applications from suitable candidates and need your support disseminating the information to Institutions of Higher Education and community schools.

The attached brochure provides details about the YHS Fulbright-Hays GPA Short-Term Project 2022.  If you know someone who might qualify for this program, please encourage him/her to apply as soon as possible. The due date is July 15, 2022.

Applicants should apply online through the Google form here: 

tinyurl.com/yhsfulbright

Applicants are also asked to write a 500-word essay about his/her professional goals and the impact this program will have on your future career. Please email the essay as word or PDF attachment to: aojha2008@gmail.com 

You may also visit our website for more details:

https://21stcenturyhindi.com/fulbright-project

If you have any questions, please feel free to email or call the Program Director, Ashok Ojha, at 732-318-9891

The program focus is ‘Climate Change’ and its impact on communities in India. It is open to graduate and undergrad students whose career goal is language education as well as faculties and administrators who are involved in curriculum development. The program requires participants to travel to India on a month-long study trip (all trip expenses covered) tentatively during the Fall 202-month of Nov-Dec 22 . Student applicants should talk to their academic advisors about this program and the study tip. Please note the primary requisite for applying is: you must be engaged full time learning or teaching Hindi or area studies of either of these: history, social sciences, culture etc. During the four weeks of trip to India, program participants will collect authentic material related with Hindi culture as well as area studies related to ‘climate change’. On return to the USA participants will utilize the materials for K-14 Curriculum Development. Prof Gabreila Nik Ilieva, NYU, is the project’s Academic advisor. Myself and Gabriela ji will lead 12 participants on the study trip to India.  

24 Hours Until SALTA 2022

We are excited to have so many of you, familiar and new, join us this year as we gather to learn and share from each other our research and practices in teaching South Asian languages!

On this website, you may find the conference schedule converted into different time zones for your convenience since many of you are joining us from all over the world: https://mysalta.org/salta-conference-2022/

This is our first year using a hybrid format for the conference with some online and others in person. We are fortunate to be able to bring you in from wherever you are, especially since this is the first summer in recent years that many of us have had the opportunity to return home to visit our families. I look forward to gathering with several of you in Madison tomorrow and am eager to see the rest of you online. All of our sessions will use the same Zoom link: https://vanderbilt.zoom.us/j/99205918636?pwd=M2UvMnhkT1ZsSWc0QnVwL0Z6eTl3QT09  Passcode: 8675309

Please feel free to email me or any other SALTA Board member with any last minute questions or difficulties.

See you soon!

Elliott

Six Days Until SALTA 2022!

Dear Friends and Colleagues,

We are less than one week away from our annual conference! As you know this year we will be employing a hybrid format with some of us in person and some of us online. In order to get the Zoom links in a timely manner, you will need to be registered. Most of you are, but if you are not yet registered, please be sure to do so here: https://forms.gle/Bc6mnDLVWMVQK8xN8

After registering, please be sure to check your email on the first day of the conference for the Zoom links to the presentations. For those of you attending in person, we will have some great activities planned here in beautiful Madison, Wisconsin. Please be sure to let me know by Monday if you will be joining us in person so that I can be sure to make the reservations for the appropriate number of people.

I look forward to seeing you all soon!

Elliott

Research Participants Sought

Sonia Sharma is doing a research study on the successes and challenges of learning Hindi in the US. I am recruiting adults who have previously taken one or more Hindi courses at a US university or college. The study includes a short email questionnaire and a virtual (Zoom) interview. Participants who complete the email questionnaire and virtual interview will receive an Amazon digital gift card. Please let me know if you or someone you know is interested by texting emailing sonia108lotus@gmail.com Thank you.